dimanche 17 avril 2016
Accueil / Les insolites Golf Zone / Les excuses de Suzann Pettersen
petersen

Les excuses de Suzann Pettersen

I've never felt more gutted and truly sad about what went down Sunday on the 17th at the Solheim Cup.  I am so sorry for not thinking about the bigger picture in the heat of the battle and competition. I was trying my hardest for my team and put the single match and the point that could be earned ahead of sportsmanship and the game of golf itself! I feel like I let my team down and I am sorry. To the U.S. team, you guys have a great leader in Juli , who I've always looked up to and respect so much. Knowing I need to make things "right," I had a face to face chat with her before leaving Germany this morning to tell her in person how I really feel about all of this. I wanted her also to know that I am sorry. I hope in time the U.S. team will forgive me and know that I have learned a valuable lesson about what is truly important in this great game of golf which has given me so much in my life. To the fans of golf who watched the competition on TV, I am sorry for the way I carried myself. I can be so much better and being an ambassador for this great game means a lot to me. The Solheim Cup has been a huge part of my career. I wish I could change Sunday for many reasons. Unfortunately I can't.  This week I want to push forward toward another opportunity to earn the Solheim Cup back for Europe in the right way. And I want to work hard to earn back your belief in me as someone who plays hard, plays fair and plays the great game of golf the right way.

A photo posted by Suzann Pettersen (@suzannpettersen) on

L’Europe mène 10-6 et vogue vers une troisième victoire consécutive.

Mais quoi qu’il arrive lors des douze simples, un goût de polémique restera à jamais dans l’histoire de cette quatorzième Solheim Cup. La scène se passe sur le dernier quatre-balles du dimanche matin. Alison Lee rate un putt de 3,5m pour gagner le 17, laissant sa balle à environ 50cm du trou, selon nos yeux (80 diront certains, et sur une pente en descente).

Logiquement, un putt si court est de coutume « donné » et l’Américaine ramasse donc sa balle, sans l’accord des Européennes Pettersen et Hull.

La Norvégienne Suzann Pettersen interpelle alors Lee, lui faisant comprendre qu’elle n’avait pas à ramasser la balle sans accord.

Infraction à la règle, trou perdu pour la team USA, qui s’inclinera deux up au trou suivant.

D’un possible come back américain à 9-7, on passe à un lourd 10-6 au tableau.

Devant la naissance de l’une des plus gênantes polémiques de l’histoire de la Solheim Cup, Lee est en larmes, l’Anglaise Hull également et on sent comme une gêne côté Carin Koch.

« Dégoutant » dira la légende Laura Davies à propos du procédé, qui plus dans un match capital. Et on aura du mal à la contredire.

Source : l’Equipe

pettersen

A propos de TEAM GZ

Nous sommes à votre écoute ! Les commentaires et suggestions des utilisateurs jouent un rôle fondamental pour nous aider à progresser. N’hésitez pas à nous contacter à tout moment pour partager vos idées !